Opening Day Starters: 1976 – 1994

In Part 2 of this series on opening day pitchers, we will take a look at the hurlers that took the first baseball of the new season immediately following the retirement of Bob Gibson up to the arrival of Tony La Russa in 1995.

June 18-20, 1968

As the St. Louis Cardinals closed out a somewhat disappointing 2010 season against the Colorado Rockies, a group of unsuspecting hurlers found themselves chasing a bit of fascinating Cardinals history. Jake Westbrook, Kyle Lohse and Jeff Suppan held the Rockies scoreless over the last three games, until Dexter Fowler led off the 8th inning with a solo home run off Fernando Salas, ending the consecutive scoreless inning streak at 30 1/3. One pitch away from three consecutive shutouts against the same team. Has this ever happened before in Cardinals history ?