Cooperstown Choices: A Look At The Ballot

For the second consecutive year, the Hall Of Fame ballot will be looked at, player by player, right here on i70baseball.


There are 37 names on this year’s Hall Of Fame ballot, with 24 of those players appearing for the first time.  Dale Murphy, one of the thirteen hold overs from last year’s ballot, appears for his 15th and final time.

Below you will find the links to a brief run down of each of the candidates.  Each page is a virtual baseball card providing the reader with a few lines of highlights of the player’s career, a banner photo of the player, a table of statistics from the player’s career, and two sections of opinion on Why He Should Get In and Why He Should Not Get In to the Hall Of Fame.

The twenty four new players on the ballot are featured in articles written this year while the hold overs were written in 2012.  You can follow the links below to read about each candidate and their credentials for Cooperstown.

Jack Morris Jeff Bagwell Lee Smith
Tim Rains Alan Trammell Edgar Martinez
Fred McGriff Larry Walker Mark McGwire
Don Mattingly Dale Murphy Raphael Palmeiro
Bernie Williams Barry Bonds Roger Clemens
Mike Piazza Curt Schilling Kenny Lofton
Craig Biggio Sammy Sosa David Wells
Steve Finley Julio Franco Reggie Sanders
Shawn Green Jeff Cirillo Woody Williams
Rondell White Ryan Klesko Aaron Sele
Roberto Hernandez Royce Clayton Jeff Conine
Mike Stanton Sandy Alomar Jose Mesa
Todd Walker

Bill Ivie is the editor here at I-70 Baseball
Follow him on Twitter here.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: