AA Springfield Receives League Honor

2011 Texas League Field Of The Year
Hammons Field receives honor for second time in team history

Springfield, MO – The Texas League has announced that Hammons Field has been named the 2011 Texas League Field of the Year.

This marks the second time in Springfield Cardinals’ history in which Hammons Field has taken home the award. Hammons Field is now eligible for the Double-A Field of the Year, which the organization won in 2008.

Hammons Field

Head Groundskeeper Brock Phipps has been in charge of the playing surface since Hammons Field was built in 2004.

“To know that we were voted Field of the Year in the Texas League is quite an honor and very humbling,” said Phipps. “I’d especially like to commend our Assistant Groundskeeper, Derek Edwards, the entire field crew for their superior work and expertise, as well as the entire front office of the Springfield Cardinals, for their immeasurable support throughout the season.”

“Brock and the staff are very dedicated to making Hammons Field beautiful for our fans and making the playing surface the very best it can be for the players,” said Vice President / General Manager Matt Gifford. “We’d also like to thank Hammons Industries for their continued support in helping to make Hammons Field one of the finest ballparks in all of minor league baseball. We’re all very proud to represent the Texas League in receiving this honor.”

The Springfield Cardinals wish to once again thank all the Cardinals’ fans for a terrific 2011 season. For information on 2012 Season Tickets, please call(417) 863-0395, or visit our website at www.springfieldcardinals.com.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: